The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Discussion: have we lost our individuality?

zaheer0027

I have been riding road bikes since i was 9 years old. In the past, my daily use to be my 2002 yamaha r1. I joined r1-forum.com and obviously followed the same modus operandi as we all do on the forums ie.learn, discuss, talk shit, etc.

However I found with bike forums the community is more individualistic. Most people choose to go their own way in terms of modding and what we want out of our machines. Now bare in mind when I sold my bike in 2011 I stopped visiting the forum so maybe things have changed but this has been my experience.

I have only taken any interest in car forums since owning my supra (2 years now) and my experience thus far in the car community (not just the supra community) is most people just want to follow what everyone else is doing and are swayed by public opinion.

so what do we think? Have car owners lost their appetite for creativity? Has the car modification scene simply evolved to where it is now? Interested to see where this discussion goes.

Theres only so many parts out there for the cars, you're going to get some people using the same stuff.

I tried to be as unique as i could with my project but ultimately it's down to what i like and want.

Like all aspects of life, theres always going to be a fashion which comes and goes and what people will follow, the CCW classics era etc etc.

I have been riding road bikes since i was 9 years old. In the past, my daily use to be my 2002 yamaha r1. I joined r1-forum.com and obviously followed the same modus operandi as we all do on the forums ie.learn, discuss, talk $#@!, etc.

However I found with bike forums the community is more individualistic. Most people choose to go their own way in terms of modding and what we want out of our machines. Now bare in mind when I sold my bike in 2011 I stopped visiting the forum so maybe things have changed but this has been my experience.