The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Tyre Help

Max5437

Hi,

I'm going to be replacing the tires when the wheels go in for a refurbishment but am looking for recommendation for tires. I have a budget of about £500, the wheels will be going back on the car when the weather improves but being reliable is obviously important in this country

Profiles are:

225/35/18

225/40/18

Thanks in advance

Max

Thank you for the replies,

This is the Thread I purchased them from http://www.mkivsupra.net/vbb/showthread.php?311731-18-inch-Jaero-Deep-Dish-alloys

Complete newbie so only going on the information provided, how can i find out if a wider size will fit without rubbing?

255 width is stock mate so it won't rub with a 255 or 265 on stock arches I'd say.

These where my first thought too ( when looking at the current tyre specs) but people where stating only getting 12K miles to a pair :/ do they really wear that quickly?

thanks for all your help btw :)

I've never EVER had 12k miles from a set of rears. Even bpu I was max 4500 miles from the rears. If think 12k is quick tyre wear you must drive like a nun mate.

These where my first thought too ( when looking at the current tyre specs) but people where stating only getting 12K miles to a pair :/ do they really wear that quickly?

What cars were getting 12k to a pair ? rears or fronts ? i'd be very very happy getting that

out of the rears on a BPU supra

If you have an NA and its set up with not too much toe or camber then perhaps double

figures is possible if you drive sensibly all the time

Avon ZZ5's are also not bad, i've got those on my BMW at the moment and im very happy with

how they perform in the dry and wet.

Just over £100 each for your sizes from Camskil, looks like they have an A rating for wet grip

on the rears and B on the fronts

Edited by Dnk (see edit history)

What cars were getting 12k to a pair ? rears or fronts ? i'd be very very happy getting that

out of the rears on a BPU supra