The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Newbie here - expert advice needed pls

Guest staccato

Guest staccato

Hi everyone. At last I have found a decent supra forum!!

I'm looking to buy a supra this year, and would particularly like a twin turbo, with a veilside bodykit or similar.

I currently own a modest Turbo Diesel MG ZR, and after browsing this excellent site for half hour or so, I can now see there is more than meets the eye to these supra beasts!

Can anyone give me general advice on the supra such as:

things to look for when buying one

how much fuel/tyres etc they really do use?

Do the supras need lots of running repairs due to their age?

I've already had an insurance quote for £937 for a 3.0 litre twin turbo supra - which is actully cheaper than my existing MG at £1067!

All help, info, horror stories etc would really help.

Hi mate and welcome. You'll probably get told to use the search button for alot of the answers, but don't be put off. Your insurance quote, was that for an import or UK car?? There's a few for sale on here which 99.9% of the time means it's in good condition. Petrol wise, well i filled my tank up the other day with Optimax at 90 odd pence a Litre and it came to £60 (first time ever usually just over £50). Tyres your looking at about £150 plus for each boot. Have you driven one yet??

Goo dluck with your purchase, and remember, we love pictures :D

1) with a veilside bodykit or similar.

2) Do the supras need lots of running repairs due to their age?

3) I've already had an insurance quote for £937 for a 3.0 litre twin turbo supra - which is actully cheaper than my existing MG at £1067!

4) All help, info, horror stories etc would really help.

1) Beware of badily fitted body kits

2) Not if they're well maintained, oil changed regularaly etc. The odd expensive bit might fail. Parts can be very dear in comparison to Euro cars, but are far less likely to fail.

3) Think yourself lucky.