The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Hi Guys just curious

bigcooler

Hi guys i am new here but have always been a massive fan of the supra, well you could call it my dream car.

I am curious though why the twin turbo auto is much much cheaper than the twin turbo manual,

is it as simple as there are more auto's than manual and could easily just change the gearbox and clutch etc or is there a massive difference.

Sorry if this is a repost but i'm not very good with computers and find it hard to find what I'm looking for.

Thanks Ben

Hi guys i am new here but have always been a massive fan of the supra, well you could call it my dream car.

I am curious though why the twin turbo auto is much much cheaper than the twin turbo manual,

is it as simple as there are more auto's than manual and could easily just change the gearbox and clutch etc or is there a massive difference.

Sorry if this is a repost but i'm not very good with computers and find it hard to find what I'm looking for.

Thanks Ben

It's because everyone (well almost everyone) wants the manual and it costs ££££s to do a manual conversion to a V160/V161 6 speed box.

Good news for the minority that actually want an Auto though.

I have been through nearly all the different specs of Supra's both NA and TT and both manual and auto.

The auto's are cheaper because there were more made and also because of the manual being better for total control/sports driving/other cliche' !

The auto TT's are great the autobox is very good considering it's age

However if the prices were the same I'd have a manual in a heartbeat

Secondhand manual conversions go for £3000 ish and secondhand autoboxes go for circa £100 if you can even get rid of one

If you can only afford an auto I wouldn't let that at all put me off having one

Saying that manual ones seem to be stable at £7-12K and so you are unlikely to loose much in the long run if you can raise the funds initially

What is it that has to be done for the conversion though