The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Daily driver questions

Guest Andy_JDM

Guest Andy_JDM

Hello all!

So after serving my time in slow cars I think it's time for a power bump. I have my eyes on either an Auto TT or a TT 6 Speed daily driver. But I do have a few concernes i'm hoping you guys could clear up for me?

Biggest one is running costs, what do you all get MPG wise? I'm hearing silly numbers like below 10 but i'm guessing that's for big single conversions etc. I will roughly be doing 150 miles per week (Motorway miles). I'm prepared for a huge hole to appear in my wallet to fuel the thing but i'm just looking rough figures.

After breifly owning a skyline I found out that the security on them are terrible, are supra's the same?

Does anyone use their's as a daily or do most people use them as weekend cars? If so why bar the obvious?

Don't be too hard on me I am a bit of a noob, Any suggetions or advice is very welcome!

Thanks guys

I've been daily-ing mine for a couple of months now, I got bored of economy and went for the fun option. :D Before this my supras have always been weekend cars.

I do ~400 miles a week to and from work. I do like to 'enjoy' the car, and it ends up costing around £120 a week for fuel.

I've got to say, actually using the thing every day does make sense. You get so much more out of it, I highly recommend it. :)

Servicing, if you can do it yourself. It's ~£90-100 for a decent grade oil and filter change, and I do mine every 3-4k miles. Depends how you drive it obviously, but I have killed a set of rear tyres in basically 2 months... but I do like to slide around a bit. :D