The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Hey guys, I'm Jack

Guest CaptainJack

Guest CaptainJack

Hey guys, I'm Jack and since it was suggested to me that I should introduce myself, I might as well do it!

Unfortunately I don't own a Supra, but hopefully this should change in a few months.

Before I buy one, I'd like to know what some of you owners think I should look out for, things like mileage, stock or modified, and similar things.

Also, I've recently found out about Sky Insurance and read that they give some pretty good deals to members of this forum, now, I presume that you don't automatically become a member just by joining the forum right?

So, how would you become a member?

Thanks for your time guys!

Guest CaptainJack

Considering I'm still a student, I can't really afford to spend too much...

Any suggestions?

If I was to get one it would definitely have to be NA and it is very likely going to be a 5 speed, mainly because 6 speed Supras are a lot more expensive, and insurance price will definitely go up.

Insurance is cheapest on UK spec twin turbo cars, though they tend to be more expensive than equivalent imports. Expensive insurance and crap fuel economy will hurt your wallet...

Rather than struggle financially, you may be better looking at a cheaper RWD alternative until you finish uni, then buy the Supra you want. MX5s can be very cheap, reliable and a lot of fun.

Insurance companies always charge more for imports, plus the UK specs are getting more rare each day. Add any modifications that you may have been done to the car and it gets expensive.

But as said, buying one is the cheap part, it's the maintenance and running costs that will be the killer!

Welcome aboard by the way, £10 will get you a years membership....join at your own peril! ;)

Really?

Didn't know that, I don't mean to be a pain, but do you know why that is?

That was another option, though it is no Supra ;)