The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Opinions on Supra For Sale

mick901

Looking to buy my first Supra, ideally in the summer but have came across this on PistonHeads - http://www.pistonheads.com/classifieds/used-cars/toyota/supra/1994-toyota-supra-3-0-twin-turbo--auto--jdm-import-model/1906598

Does anyone know the car or have an idea of its condition? The price kind of attracts me and puts me off at the same time, it'd need work aesthetically to get it how I'd like, but I'm more concerned about the mechanics of it.

Thanks.

He replied to a message I sent saying the car drives fine and the interior is excellent but had a couple of scuffs on the bumper and a blister on one of the rear arches, but said they'd be getting sorted this week and would be in superb condition.

Don't have a lot of experience with Supra's aside from my dad having a couple years ago. I work in a garage but is there anything out of the ordinary I need to look for if I go and have a look?

Edited by mick901 (see edit history)

Dnk is right but IMO of late his glass is a little half empty!

The auto boxes are very tough.....if you think the shifting or operation is below par it'll indicate a possible servicing or mileage issue...I highly suspect you will find all is ok in this department.

The engine/turbo's are generally tough, the older and higher mileage the car is, the more stock I'd like it to be. The cars take tuning well, but 1.2 bar for tens of thousands of miles with perhaps patchy servicing is going to age a car like this far more than a stock car with a good routine service history. It 'looks' stock'ish, I'd certainly check for decats and if present you can try and check the exhaust at all stages for any oil smoke. A torch inside the oil filler cap will show you the intake cam and general state of the head.....light brown oil best to caked in solid black residue the worst. This is an area where a bad choice will be costly!