The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Buying a Supra in Japan (I'm new to Supras). I found this one. Anything advice?

Guest EODtech

It's a base model TT though, it has the small brakes etc.

Looks like a GZ to me, so not exactly the "base model". Cruise control, active spoiler & leather were standard on the GZ. An RZ would have to have these spec'd when new. The four pot brakes were always an option on pre-facelift cars.

As mentioned the blue smoke will be VSS.

Looks to be in good condition throughout and has very nice wheels.

Guest EODtech
Looks like a GZ to me, so not exactly the "base model". Cruise control, active spoiler & leather were standard on the GZ. An RZ would have to have these spec'd when new. The four pot brakes were always an option on pre-facelift cars.

As mentioned the blue smoke will be VSS.

Looks to be in good condition throughout and has very nice wheels.

That is helpful, Thank you.

I don't recognize the plate, are you in Misawa or Kadena? I wouldn't buy that off another service member for 9K. I'm positive you can find a good clean example on the economy. I don't know why people on base jack the prices up so high. If the seller is military he is probably selling because of a pcs to some place he can't take it which means he has to sell. I'd get him to come down on the price as I'm sure he beat the hell out of it in his short time there. Valve stem seal job is going to cost some coin and that alone should bring down the price. I'm CE too btw, welcome to the forum!

It's not too badly priced and does look like a clean example. Works out about £5.5k if it's $9k.

Selling the steering wheel and buying a stock one could pay for half the price of getting the VSS sorted.

Mine gives off a puff of blue smoke when first started on a morning and it's never given me any problems so will be a good reason to get the price down and not something that is necessarily a major problem if it's only a small amount.