The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Hopefully soon to be first time supra owner :)

Dave_harman1990

Hi guys, signed up to the sight looking for as much info and advice as i can before i spend a bundle on my newest project/ dream car.

Im an assistant manager for a london based company called Merityre so working on cars is part of my day to day life :)

First things first, im looking for a setup more towards drifting than power down without an excessive figure and expense. My current car is a 200sx S14a which was always my second favorite car to the Supra in first place. my problem is at a current 300 BHP im looking at a good 2 - 3K for another 80 ish bhp to which the gearbox would be unreliable as would the engine or another 5k for a good power figure with a pure risky gearbox but half reliable engine lol. The supra however i hear very VERY good things about stock engines being able to take upto 600bhp and boxes over 500bhp on the 2jzgte ;) so should be plenty for me! in other words now being 23 with a good set of no claims and an income i can finally afford the big boys toy.

I am not looking for a record breaker, im sure 450 bhp will be plenty of power for me but the biggest importance is a high torque figure without stupid amounts of lag, so full boost by maybe 4500rpm LATEST.

Important factors:

Must be a manual

Must be the twin turbo (going to single turbo it once i can afford it) unless i find a good single turbo one with reliable history

Preferably a standard setup (however rare it may be to find)

Questions:

Is there much difference in uk to import spec and any flaws and benefits depending on which one?

is there and benefits or weaknesses between the 5 speed and 6 speed box?

How accurate are my max figures for the internals strength (baring in mind regular servicing and maintenance and very rarely abused)?