The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Could It Work for an NA/TT? - Supra/Legacy Turbo Frankenmorph

schemauk

My best friends dad has a twin turbo manual Legacy GT (import), which I believe has the EJ20R engine (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subaru_EJ_engine#EJ20TT). Whether that matters much, who knows - I'm not using the engine, so not so much probably.

He's offered me the whole car for £2000, as its currently off the road. He's recently had the engine itself rebuilt, new intercooler, and a couple of other bits, including some sort of big brake conversion. The reason its off the road is because the primary turbo is knackered - he's got a replacement which he said he'd give me if I were to buy.

So my question is (I'm new to this whole mechanical side of things...) would it be possible to use the turbo system from this car for a NA/TT frankenstein kind of thing? I understand that I'd need to get some custom pipework done to be able to fit, as well as get a decent ECU mapped... Anything else that could become costly? The turbo's are whatever came as standard on the car. The primary turbo had the markings 'IHI RHF4', couldn't see the secondary turbo.

The benefit is that by buying the whole car, that would allow me to break what I didn't need: rebuilt engine, shell, wheels, brakes, interior etc. etc. and could free up some funds to be able to pay for any custom pipework required/ECU mapping.

Labour isn't an issue, I have my dad and a few friends who would be willing to help :thumbs:

So what do you guys reckon? Is this a possibility, or something I should stop thinking about immediately? :D

If anyone needs any more information, let me know!

I cants see it being worthwhile, the turbos are likely on the small side for a 2JZ, and none of the manifolds etc would be any good. It would just be simpler and cheaper to buy some second hand Supra turbos.

Has anyone tried fitting stock turbos to an NA?

You may be getting confused between NA-t and NA-TT here.