The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Converting RHD to LHD

Guest Madmatt9797

Guest Madmatt9797

Hello, i've been wanting a supra for a while now, but I live in Canada, and all the Supra's here in all of Ontario are RHD. I'm not interested in driving RHD all the time as it will be inconvenient in certain situations, and will be more accident prone. Would it be possible to convert RHD to LHD? I am not a mechanic, so would be bringing it into a professional shop and am hoping they would be able to find the parts needed for me, and take care of it all. Give me your input on this, I know it may be expensive (Anyone have a price range they'd think it would be in? including the shop finding the parts) I was thinking it'd be around 10 grand or so. This is my favorite car so i'm thinking it'd be worth it.

The insurance would also be a pain with having it RHD

Edited by Madmatt9797 (see edit history)

I think you my have youre work cut out there mate but things can always be done just down to money!!

I never done it but would say you would need lhd bulkhead (lots of work), pedel set, full dash kit, heater blower, etc etc 95% sure you would need to change or sort out brake pipes and pos master cylinder? then you start with power steering rack and fittings etc etc as on other side what would it fail on?? as if you have oil relocate etc??

LOOK DEEP!! in to it before you start as you don't want lose the love for your supra :)

if you got a idea of what your after pay £10 gbp to join fully and you will find lots of help on here plus couple of traders on here have fingers in lots of pies and can find some utter stunning cars to all specs for very good money!!

Guest Madmatt9797
The search bar is your friend. Its been covered a few times.

Welcome to the forum by the way :)

Thanks! Yes I've done quite a bit of searching, but there isn't too much that i've found useful. mainly people saying don't do it, but i'm in Canada and i'd MUCH rather LHD.

- - - Updated - - -