The mkiv Supra Owners Club

HELP WITH Engine cleaning...internal.........please

DodgyRog

About to do an Oil change over the next month in preperation for the summer and have a couple of questions

Done a search and the general consensus seems to be a big no no to Engine flush

The reason I am asking about flushing and cleaning, is I have noticed while looking inside the oil cap hole that it seems quite black and I was thinking that the inside of the engine is proberbly much the same

So if you should not really use flush, is the best option to remove the Cam Covers and just clean the insides that way, obviously that only cleans them, but it's better than nothing

If this is the best option, is there something specific that is good for the job and safe if traces get into the engine system

While talking about oil changes, I used to use the Lexus Oil Filter on my N/A is it the same one on the TT block, :Dsorry for my Newbie question, but I am a Newbie to the TT:D

Edited by DodgyRog (see edit history)

I heard the best option is just to Buy cheap oil and filter, drive it nicely for a 100 miles with the new cheap oil and filter then Change it for the New quality oil and filter.

Dunno if this helps or is any good but an option

Not sure that put a clean oil in for a short period is going to clean the sludge of much

Could you not try that engine decarbonise treatment that was on wheeler dealers it looked good

From doing a bit of searching it seems a lot of question come up about using decarboniser or flushes in Turbo engines, due to the fact that you make the deposits come loose and then they end up running through your engine components including the Turbo bearings

Being new to the TT I am just going by what I have found during a quick search, hence the post

The last thing I want, is to knacker something, as Jen will have a heart attack if I have to fix something already lol

I think Fosta has all the equipment for that full engine clean internal thingy