The mkiv Supra Owners Club

steering feels light at high speeds!

Guest berghard55

Guest berghard55

Hi all, im a newbie on here! I have an issue with my supra it seems that wheni get over 100 the steering feels light, i know my front shock is leaking and needs replacing could it be that? But also ive recently highered the suspension to make my wheels fit and wondering if it could possibly be front end lift, pls help!

Could be due to the shock leaking but it isn't advisable doing that speed if you think there's a potential problem. How much is the suspension raised by? Over a ton if its too high will create lift and cause the front to float i'd say.

What size are the wheels that you needed to raise it to get them on?

I think raising the front with no compensating changes to the adjustable suspension will give you positive or at least less negative camber and the floaty/light steering?

Get the car in to somewhere with a good alignment machine and get your cambers/castors etc back to within the factory ranges.

I think raising the front with no compensating changes to the adjustable suspension will give you positive or at least less negative camber and the floaty/light steering?

Get the car in to somewhere with a good alignment machine and get your cambers/castors etc back to within the factory ranges.

This.

Oh yeah, I wouldn't!

:D

Again do you have a bgw on the back? If so, the suspension also needs to compensate for that.

My front is 15mm lower than the rear. When I get going, the front lifts slightly, and the rear eats the floor, levelling the car out.

I'd go to a good garage and get them to set up your suspension properly.

Either that, or get hold of dr_jekyll on here, he's in cardiff and knows his stuff.

Guest berghard55
Also check the valve function on the steering rack, it opens and closes (speed related) to avoid light steering at high speed

Could be that

where would i find the valve fuction?