The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Is anyone on here in the Armed Forces?

SilverSoop

Hi all, I was just wondering if any member on here is currently serving in the forces?

I have my Royal Navy medical next Tuesday at Twyford and I was just wondering if anyone can shed some light on what's involved...

I'm quite nervous about it!! I've heard that these Service quacks are very picky on who they pass and fail! :blink:

Hi,

I was a serving REME Avionics Technician until late 2010.

Unfortunately I was Medically Discharged due to anterior compartment syndrome in both my legs. The result was I needed the following surgery:

imageimage

And then because that didn't work I had to have this surgery:

imageimage

As for the entrance medical,

Standard eye test,

Hearing test,

The old cough and drop,

A chat about your medical history,

A check if your joints,

Urine test,

Blood test.

Hello sailor lol :gayfight:

I would say they aren't that picky don't worry about it , if your a young fit lad that can run a mile and a half in less than 10 mins you will be fine , saying that I don't even know if the navy do BPFA fitness tests

Bloody hell Josh I've seen a few people after those ops and that looks horrific

I remember doing my medical in 99 in Scotland somewhere and it consisted of the normal medical examinations, urine tests for drugs and alcohol, eye tests etc and for the fitness side it was a 1.5 mile run in under 12 minutes ( drops to 10 minutes when you do your training in the Infantry ) there were strength tests with Ammo tins to see if you could lift a set amount of weight, they counted how many pull ups and sit ups you could do. I would imagine you will have to do some sort of written exam if you are going into a trade in the Navy as the lads who wanted to be in the Engineers had to sit one. Can't remember if there was anything else it was a long time ago lol.

Hi,

I was a serving REME Avionics Technician until late 2010.