The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Legal/Illegal number plate's

Guest ahamilton

Guest ahamilton

I've just been stopped by the police for an illegal plate (2 illegal plates). Ive just been reading the other threads and notice some of the 'no need for a front plate' etc. I accept my front plate was very very small BUT it hangs in my front bumper, would i have a leg to stand on if i claim the full size plate would restrict airflow? that isnt even such an issue my major issue is my rear plate, it is apparenly illegal due to it being an import with enough space on the bumper to fit on a standard uk rear plate? the plate is standard size lettering and numbering which i said to the policeman but he was having none of it, although as soon as i said that he followed it with "it will get through an mot but is not legal" isnt that the whole point of an mot?? i can go take pictures of both front and rear plates although it is dark outside! and help/advice appreciated due to having to produce changed plates in 14 days or a court date! as i say the front plate i accept, the rear im not happy about. :D:d

Guest ahamilton

IMG_0431.jpg

small plate.... ok its small!

IMG_0380.jpg

old standard size plate..... doesnt look very good!

IMG_0261.jpg

what is wrong with that!!?...... except the exhaust!

I've been running an import plate on the back of my Celica for 12 years. 4 of those were in Newcastle when I lived there. If it was such a crime they should have made me change the J-spec plate surround for a UK one to accomodate the snowboard like UK plate. Seems your Mr Policeman is feeling the need to wave some authority around..