The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Do many people forge their Supras?

Biggenz

I know the Supra engine can make good power with stock block and internals, but not many people forge their engines from what I can see.

Why is that?

Surely you can run heaps more boost and make more power, and it can't be that expensive to do?

Plenty do. But it you don't need more than 700 hp or your happy with what you have got why would you bother spending the money on parts and labour.

I'd also be inclined to think (although I'm no expert) a stock block would be potentially more reliable at say 600 bhp than one that's pulled apart.

I guess you're right, but when I look at the parts lists of some of the guys, they've had everything done, but run moderate boost as they've got stock internals.

Maybe I'm just the odd one out, as I would like to extract everything out of the engine possible.

Have you been in a 650 ish hp supra ?

I have and for rd use i dont see much point in having any more than that as thats pretty

mental as it is, im not knocking anyone who wants more but for most its more than enough

to scare the crap out of you on dry day let alone a damp moist one :D

I guess you're right, but when I look at the parts lists of some of the guys, they've had everything done, but run moderate boost as they've got stock internals.

Maybe I'm just the odd one out, as I would like to extract everything out of the engine possible.

On a good stock 2JZ-GTE engine with a relatively small turbo (61mm - 67mm) and moderate boost (1.4 - 1.5bar) it's easy to get 550 - 600+hp, which for day to day driving is more than enough 99% of the time and if built properly using quality parts and all supporting modifications it'll be as reliable as a BPU TT - actually probably more reliable as there is a lot less to go wrong.

Depends what you want, if you're going to extract everything out of a 2JZ engine you're going to need very deep pockets.