The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Supra revival!

mknapman77

HI all,

Im new to the supra world, and I've just acquired a mkiv on a p plate that needs reviving! its been sat outside for the last 8-10 years and i intend on bringing it back to life, so may require some advice along the way! Gonna start by cleaning it up a bit, getting the engine turning over and seeing if i can get oil pressure and actually make it run, is there anything else specific to these cars i should look out for on the way? also does anyone know a good place to buy/download a good workshop manual? I've downloaded a few for other cars and they've turned out useless sometimes!

Thanks for any advice!

• Replies 91
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome

What have you bought, TT or NA

Along with getting it running i'd be having a very close look at the brakes, check for

corroded brake lines and also check for perished outer seals which lead to seized

pistons, are they the 4 pot and 2 pot calipers (known as uk spec) or

the smaller 2 pot and single pot (known as j spec)?

If their the smaller type then they could have seized sliders as well which will need overhauling or replacing.

It'll possibly need new tyres as well so have a good look at them before you drive it anywhere.

Edited by Dnk (see edit history)

Its TT, not 100 percent sure but i think judging by list of things I've found out the web about them its an import unfortunately. I haven't got the v5 yet, but it has no bonnet vent, reverse lights are in the middle, it has side skirts, etc. Ive just been over to it to take some photos, as i haven't got it to my house yet, i will post them up asap. Don't worry, i won't be driving it for a while, I'm a mechanic myself so I appreciate the general problems of it having been sat for ages, was just wondering if theres anything specific to look for once i get it reasonably mobile and running! Cheers guys!

I bet with a new battery it starts.