PDA

View Full Version : Supra revival!

mknapman77
30-12-11, 13:47
HI all,

Im new to the supra world, and I've just acquired a mkiv on a p plate that needs reviving! its been sat outside for the last 8-10 years and i intend on bringing it back to life, so may require some advice along the way! Gonna start by cleaning it up a bit, getting the engine turning over and seeing if i can get oil pressure and actually make it run, is there anything else specific to these cars i should look out for on the way? also does anyone know a good place to buy/download a good workshop manual? I've downloaded a few for other cars and they've turned out useless sometimes!

Thanks for any advice!

David P
30-12-11, 13:49
http://www.mkivsupra.net/vbb/content.php?51-Repair-Manuals

http://www.mkivsupra.net/vbb/showthread.php?254565-Toyota-supra-workshop-manuals

Welcome to the club. :)

The 'Advanced Search' will find what else you seek, is it N/A or T.T.?

Post up some pics.

Dnk
30-12-11, 13:59
Welcome

What have you bought, TT or NA

Along with getting it running i'd be having a very close look at the brakes, check for
corroded brake lines and also check for perished outer seals which lead to seized
pistons, are they the 4 pot and 2 pot calipers (known as uk spec) or
the smaller 2 pot and single pot (known as j spec)?

If their the smaller type then they could have seized sliders as well which will need overhauling or replacing.

It'll possibly need new tyres as well so have a good look at them before you drive it anywhere.

mknapman77
30-12-11, 16:32