The mkiv Supra Owners Club

LSD set up

antno

Recently bought a tt6 and the rear end was solid. No slip in the diff what so ever. I thought it could of been welded up as the car could possibly have been drifted back in Japan.

Anyway pulled the diff housing out n popped the back off and I think it's a carbonetic diff but il find out more when I get it to work and have a look at the plate pack.

What I want to know is how much preload do you normally run? I'm a novice driver so I suspect something quite low 50nm or something. I'm going to use it for trackdays n just general road use so I want it to go round bends.

Also the ramp angle seem to be about 30/30 which would be nice and progressive. Has any one tested different angle for braking and acceleration?

Cheers antno

The preload is just too high unless the diffs broken. Some one has put extra bevel washer in or increased the number of friction faces to the maximum or they have increased the plate pack height. I can reduce the friction faces by putting the outer spined plates together. We use kaaz diffs at work so Ive got plenty of oil to throw at it. Another question. Has any one had a carbonetic diff apart? Do they usually have a choice of ramp angles?

Cheers antno

• 2 weeks later...

so i stripped the diff and found nothing wrong with the internals. think the diff is actually a kaaz as its very similar. i think it could have possably have had the wrong oil in. the preload on the bench when cold was only 50nm but i think that when the oil gets hot it goes too thin and the preload goes much higher, which is whats causing the solid rear axle. the diff was set to its full friction face setting of 16ff. i rebuilt the diff with kaaz oil to the same set up as it came out of the car and got 110nm of preload so i think it was set up for drifting or drag racing or possibly a competent driver. ive decided to run it at 8ff with a preload of 60nm(second photo in) so its a bit more progressive and better around bends.