The mkiv Supra Owners Club

really annoyed grrrr coilover probs lol

ashbuster

been trying to change the rear to coilovers and was having probs getting the old lot out

my stepdad said i wouldnt get it out untill i undo the bottom nut from under neath and he undone it

fair enough i got the old one out and now i carnt get that bolt back in, its far away from where it should be and i carnt leaver it back

any ideas what im supost to do?

im not very good at explaining things but its the bottom nut and bolt right under where the wheel goes :) lol

ohh and i should mention ,

heres a pik

circled in red

Edited by ashbuster (see edit history)

Why did you undo the strut rod to change the rear shocker? You only need to unbolt the bottom bolt on the shocker, the 3 at the top and lever the suspension down and its out.

Sounds to me that your going to have to take the shocker back off, take the weight off the suspension and try to move it back into position.

Take it easy if you are on your own, don't make a slight balls up even worse!

If you get the leverage to get it close to lining up, then arm yourself with a strong screw driver or similar to try and poke through the joint. It won't need perfect alignment to get this through and then you can have a rest and see which way you need to tweak/hold it whilst attempting to get the bolt back through. I've done this a few times on other jobs where you end up trying, failing and quickly putting the screw driver back to get the use of your muscles back ready for another go. NB if you can get a rod that is only 1-2mm smaller than the actual bolt through, then you stand more chance of doing the hold hub-remove rod-locate bolt-tweak things-push bolt through-pickup wooden/copper mallet-tap right through-breath a sigh of relief-have a cup of tea, method [GRIN][/GRIN]