The mkiv Supra Owners Club

New to supras much advise needed

Guest Razorback

Guest Razorback

Hi all as stated im new to these lovely machines ive been driving a jap 93 mitsubishi GTO TT :baa: and its about to be sold so im on the look out for a nice supra it will have to be a manual N/A as my funds will not stretch to a TT.

1. what sort of BHP can you take an N/A to as 220 just wont cut it for me :D

2. can anyone recomend good importers /dealers in south yorkshire.

3. Is there any common faults on Manual n/a's

4. Whats the engine like to work on the GTO was feckin horrible you needed hands like mr elastic to get to various parts of the engine bay even a plug change was a pain in the butt

Thanks for any help

Russ:flame Dev

Hi and welcome.

1. i think 235 BHP is quite achievable. with a Decat (both cats out) perfromance exhaust system, induction kit & using Optimax. After that it gets very exspensive although you can get a Turbo kit for NA but that aint cheap either if your after Big BHP save and get a TT. Insurance is ahrdly any different and in most cases cheaper!! :eek:

2. sorry no ideas but someone will be able to help you

3. I cant really answer this either but had my NA Manual for a Year and havent had one single problem! touch wood

4. I dont do the work myself apart from oil change and that was easy lol I do knwo to change the plugs on a NA is harder then on a TT

Guest Razorback

Thanks bud TT is not an option unfortunately as i wanna buy the car outright no finance. want i ment by BHP increase is it has to be capable of tanning the scooby gang i loved destroying them in the GTO and i cant go back to not being able to blow at least a few of them away so im talking around 280-300bhp is this not realistic without spending over 2 grand.

More questions

1. Can you get lightweight uprated pulleys for the N/A

2. Superchips ?are they availble good or bad idea

3. FSE Boost valves ? do they do them for the supra again good or bad

cheers

Russ