The mkiv Supra Owners Club

MR2 -> Supra?

Jata

Hello all,

I've never posted on here before and do not currently own a Supra but I'm hoping you may be able to help me with that. I currently own a standardish Rev3 MR2 Turbo and have come to a cross roads of sorts. I'm looking to build my dream car and am debating whether to stick with the MR2 or sell up and get a TT manual Supra with the possibility of going single later on. My concern is that I could spend a lot of time and money on my MR2 only to possibly regret it further down the line. I'm on an average sort of income and foresee incremental upgrades over time. I'm a relative novice at car maintenance / mechanics but am looking to learn by fixing and upgrading my car myself where possible.

So I'll try and spell out the comparative pros and cons as I see them.

MR2 good points:

Feels compact and chuckable

Accelerates well for comparatively little power

Cheap to run and maintain

MR2 bad points:

It feels a little 'flighty' at higher speeds which I understand to be a common trait rather than a specific issue with my car.

I'd prefer it to be a little bit more long legged in top making for a more relaxing drive.

Working on the car is an absolute sod due to the engine bay being so tight.

Supra good points:

Long legged relaxing drive (When desired!)

Easy, reliable power while still being quite torquey

Front engined, easy to work on?

Supra bad points:

Quite a large car, potentially not very nimble?

Comparatively expensive to buy, run and maintain

I've seen and most importantly heard some gorgeous single Supras and am very very tempted. Essentially then I'd appreciate people's advice on this. Has anyone made that same swap from MR2 -> Supra? Are you happy you did it? Is there something I've perhaps not considered? I appreciate I'm posting on a Supra forum and so more than likely will get a somewhat biased response but all the same I'd like to hear your views!