The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Installing a head unit help

Starbuck

Hi,

I'm trying to install a new head unit, so following the guides to take the facia off etc having some trouble with one connector but getting enough space to pull the old unit out.

Then I see some sparks when the side of the old unit touches the gear knob, so I'm thinking its time to work out how to disconnect the battery or take out a fuse to turn the power off while i install the new one.

Are there any threads with pictures of the fuse box or battery?

Seriously, I've never done anything like this before, and can't seem to find a thread through searches.

Any advice would be much appreciated and might avoid me getting electricuted....(wishing I paid for installation now!)

Might have to give up for the night as its getting dark and get the train to work tomorrow!

Cheers

Just pop the bonnet up , and the battery will be starring you straight in the face.. or to the right a bit. Disconnect both terminals or just the black/negative terminal by unbolting it from the battery and sliding the wire upwards .. then wedge something(non-metalic) under the wire to stop it from touching anything.

Hi,

I'm trying to install a new head unit, so following the guides to take the facia off etc having some trouble with one connector but getting enough space to pull the old unit out.

Then I see some sparks when the side of the old unit touches the gear knob, so I'm thinking its time to work out how to disconnect the battery or take out a fuse to turn the power off while i install the new one.

Are there any threads with pictures of the fuse box or battery?

Seriously, I've never done anything like this before, and can't seem to find a thread through searches.

Any advice would be much appreciated and might avoid me getting electricuted....(wishing I paid for installation now!)

Might have to give up for the night as its getting dark and get the train to work tomorrow!

Cheers