The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Help with first Supra

Guest ryan_s3

Guest ryan_s3

Hi,

A good friend of mine is about to buy a L reg turbo supra from a local garage,I went to have a quick look at the car seems in quite good order ,it's a 40,000km rz auto with cruise and active spoiler.They want 9.5k.It has silver paintwork,although i think the front valance has had a respray and possible the bonnet?Everything else is standard about the car other than a electronic boost controller.It has non standard alloys and good zr rated tyres.Is there anything i can tell him to look for or if anyone lives in the leicester area that would be willing to have a look,would be appreciated as i'm not a expert on supra,thanks Ryan

IMHO £9.5k is the top of its price band on that plate on an auto. A manual would fetch that no probs. I dunno about others but mine has some serious stone chips in the areas you mentioned looking like they had been sprayed, If the rest of the paintwork is exemplory they might have had the bonnet blown over to keep it in line with the rest of the car. Tell ur mate to have a look on ebay at the prices (you will see the figures that cars are being offered not the prices people want in autotrader) and speak to some of the people here selling cars they will give you a realistic idea of what to pay for what car. One thing with the aftermarket alloys check the size of them they should comfortably have 255's on the rear and 235's on the front anything smaller on a TT is smaller than stock and again IMO a bad idea.

Guest ryan_s3

thanks for the reply,i will check the size of the tyres and see if there ok.If sure there must be some sort of grill missing out of the front spoiler as i can see straight to the radiator.It apparently runs ok(not been in myself) with no smoke.Would it be worth taking a boost guage just to check the two turbos?

Guest ryan_s3