The mkiv Supra Owners Club

how hard to drive in wet, ice, snow?

Guest farnell182

Guest farnell182

being RWD alot of people have said a supra will be a death trap in bad weather conditions, which i understand especially with that much power behind them wheels, bu how hard to drive/control are they? drivable? or best to keep in the garage over winter?

That's a very subjective question. I've never had any squeeky bum moments in the Supra, but I am a cautious driver when the conditions require restraint. The accelerator seems to be used as a switch by most, heard a lot of "When the 2nd turbo came in the back end just slid out" comments leading me to believe that the owner was giving it some stick when the conditions didn't permit. Afterall, what would you be doing up at 4krpm if just driving normally?

As long as you have grip to physically move the car, you should have no more problems in the Supra than any other car. The fact that you can steer independantly from the power should make it more controllable in the worst of conditions.

i went in the snow just for the fun of it to see how it handled. To be honest it was fine aslong as you dont do anything stupid!

When the back end did come out it was very smooth and gently a bit like being in slow motion.

TBH its worse when you get the tail out in the dry because its more violent and you have to be much quicker to catch it as your driving at alot of leptons.

I've driven mine in the snow. But I had no other option. Now we have 2 cars. One of which is 4x4 it stays on the drive in the snow. If it's frosty on the road in the morning just be carefull. If it's wet it's fine unless your being stupid. Or skimping on tyres, have stupid rims or bad geo setup

yeah its when you stop that is the problem. I was reversing off my mums drive in the snow and she came out and called me to stop for something or other......car stuck half in the road and half on the drive for an hour. Auto + Snow = Very difficult to get moving