PDA

View Full Version : Explanation of the overdrive button

iain_spen
20-07-04, 09:15
Hey, I'm still pretty new to Supras and was wondering...

1. Do you ever take the overdrive off?? because i dont :p

2. Does the TT have the same gearbox as the Turbo and N/A??

Snowman
20-07-04, 09:26
If you don't take the overdrive off you obviously aren't going fast enough!!!!

Not sure I would want to do over about 120 in 3rd gear! If you want to stretch its legs are make some big speed you are going to need 4th!

Ian R
20-07-04, 09:26
Think the boxes are the same.

IMO overdrive is very usefull in TT as it holds the revs longer in each gear which keeps the second turbo online can't say what difference it would make in a NA though

oxygene
20-07-04, 10:16
Originally posted by iain_spen
Hey, I'm still pretty new to Supras and was wondering...

1. Do you ever take the overdrive off?? because i dont :p

2. Does the TT have the same gearbox as the Turbo and N/A??
1. Yeah I do, how do you expect to piss on other road users without doing that...

2. Unsure, they other guyz are more knowledgable.

Jake
20-07-04, 10:24
Originally posted by Snowman
If you don't take the overdrive off you obviously aren't going fast enough!!!!

Not sure I would want to do over about 120 in 3rd gear! If you want to stretch its legs are make some big speed you are going to need 4th! :conf: huh?
Turning overdrive OFF would mean the car didn't get into 4th gear

Jake
20-07-04, 10:26
Originally posted by Ian R
overdrive is very usefull in TT as it holds the revs longer in each gear I don't think that's right Ian. I think you'll find that 'Overdrive Off' just stops it getting into 4th gear.

Jake
20-07-04, 10:30
Do you ever take the overdrive off?? Yes, to keep the revs in the range I want when driving fast and also I use it a lot for engine braking.

Snowman
20-07-04, 10:30
Jake