The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Stowell

hey, im debating wether to get a supra and joined up to get some opinions, im only 19 and i did a quote on a supra tt and it was about £2200....and thats less than im paying on a saxo lol..just wondered about costs thats all, i could maybe stretch too about £100 a week for fuel, would that be enough...i do 20 miles a day to work and back, and maybe a few trips to college and back...looking also at maybe a n/a supra if not...what they like on fuel?

thanks guys..

welcome mate im a newbie too and i have just bought a n/a today and throughly enjoy it ive gone down in power as i used to own an evo 5 and i dont regret it one bit, its such a great drive. all i can say is take your time when looking for a supra and the right one will eventually become available. and i would also recommend to over a budget because no matter how much u set your budget u always go over it.

well im paying £2400 on insurance now, but when my ncb comes through..i could get a supra :D...its just day to day running costs thats stopping me deffinatly getting one, i mean my other option is a new shape sri turbo astra..which i could get about 30mpg from..just wondering if its going too be way too much and what mpg each supra gets, like n/a, single turbo and tt...i could work out how mcuh is would be a week then :p

Welcome to the club.

The Supra's are very thirsty on fuel (though decent considering their power). The NA will be slightly better on fuel than the TT, though you have to remember they are a 3.0L straight 6 engine. I only drive my car at the weekends & I don't do too much mileage and I still spend £200 a month.

Being 19, I'd be very cautious about getting a Supra from a saxo, I owned a number of high powered cars & occasionally drive Super cars & my TT still scares me sometimes. If you are really serious about getting a Supra then I suggest taking a look at the NA's. Brilliant cars, very reliable & will ease you into high powered RWD cars.