The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Lack of power - NA

Homer

No jokes please :D

My NA seems to be lacking power, just had a fellow NA owner take it out who confirmed..

There's no misfire noticable and everything seems to be working, is there anything obvious to check considering there doesn't seem to be an ignition issue?

Check to see if the Turbo's are missing.... If they are, it's an NA and perfectly normal :D

On a serious note I guess things to check could be, Fuel Filter, FPR, spark plug gap...? Not too up on the NA but those are the things I would look at on any other engine so I guess it would apply. The NA has a distributor based ignition doesn't it? Have you checked dizzy cap, rotor arm etc, I know you said there were no misfires and the ignition was fine, but worth checking if you haven't already? Is it decatted?

Once you've checked the obvious, maybe a compression test is in order? I'm no mechanic though, so my opinion might not be worth much ;)

Hope you get it sorted :)

Edited by kill1308 (see edit history)

put a sock over the air filter and rev the nuts off of it while spraying some of that cleaner fluid stuff in. will smoke round the back but will clean it up a lil.

also you guys may laugh but a mates car was running lumpy and turned out there was a dead squirrel in the exhaust but this was pretty noticeable because the car just went so quiet!

Your having the same symptoms I had with my supra being parked for so long, and I also did with my clutch. Iv been using the lique moly stuff and driving it more. The cars started to pick up more power, i reckon being parked for 7 years my valves were sticking etc as I did have low compression

mines like this at the moment ive done

spark plugs

oil filter and oil

o2 sensors

took intake manifold of cleaned inside

cleaned apexi air filter

checked exhaust manifold gaskets ect and for damage

reset ecu still on v power

checked tyre pressures as rears were a little down

change vac pipes