The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Hey Guys, Thinking about a Supra

Guest Shammy

Hey guys/gals, how are you all?

I drive a ZR 120 at the moment, was going to upgrade to a 160 soon. Had a look on ebay and saw that there were some Supras going for under £3k! Did an insurance quote and I can get insured on the N/A for £1000 when I turn 21 next month!!! I couldn't believe it!

The Supra is a car that I have always wanted to own, but not sure if i'll take the plunge. I joined here so I could get advice from you knowledgeable folk!

I know the engines are very reliable, but with the cars being old now and most of them on high mileage, are they costly to run? What is the mpg like around town? Are parts easy to get hold of? Oh, and do you have to run it on V-Power or similar?

I'm looking at the 3.0 N/A versions, most of them seem automatic, I would prefer a manual but you can't get everything! I'd only have a budget of around £3000 max as I'm a student, so any more than that then I wouldn't be able to pay the insurance/running costs.

Can I get anything decent for that much?

I'm sure you have been asked these questions before many times, so sorry for asking them again.

Thanks in advance :)

Usually the less you pay a car, the more work awaiting for you mate.

Even if you start with a auto / na ; this could very well end up as a nice project car. You just need some time, work and a few bucks.

I got my first sup when I was still in college. 5spd na beat to shit. I sold it in a decent condition for its age and mileage with a full usdm swap and bpu goodies.

Welcome

I would go for the Supra over an MG any day of the week :)

Mileage around town expect about 20+mpg

The mileage is no concern if the car has been maintained properly

There is no need to run an N/A on V Power as it will give you no benefit

Dont discount the auto box. It is great and smooth, you would be suprised.

Have a look on the forsales here to see what you can get for your budget..

Scotty