The mkiv Supra Owners Club

newbi

Guest andy s2k

Guest andy s2k

hi my name's andy, i am searching for a supra prep a 6 speed manual but tbh i think there alittle out of my budget so here goes. iv got around £7000 to play with would prefer a twin turbo 6 speed manual,but if i could fine one i would go for a auto,is it possible to convert a supra tt auto to a manual using the 5 speed g/box out of another supra liek the N/A model , and if so how much power would that gearbox take as i'm sure 6 speed manual g/box's would be hard to find.

I'm not to fussed bout the cost to convert auto to manual, and what would i need parts wise. :)

Guest andy s2k

thanks guys i'm quite handy with a spanner or tweo as i'm a bike mechanic by trade , so i would prob have go myself but my thoughts where a 5 speed box would be alot easyier to get hold of than a 6 speed

Guest andy s2k
Welcome. :)

Contact Jurgen (JM Imports) .. he will be willing to help.

To be honest, I would not mess around with 5 speed gearbox. ;)

is he a user on here????

Guest andy s2k

as long as it bolts straight onto the engine i can sort the rest out but i want to run at the min 400bhp maybe more , iv just sold a honda s2000 with a mase turbo kit and that made just under 450whp in a car that weighs 1260kg so i know the supra isnt that light but i would love to make a bit of pony power in one got to keep up with my mates hes got a r32gtr 2.8 stroker running around 380 bhp but he has the turbos and cams with a good map to reach 500/600bhp

Welcome, the conversion can be done from auto to 5/6 speed manual, it is quite straight forward. The 5 speed box is not known to take much more power than bpu reliably 400/410 bhp, if you want power then a 6 speed box is what you need, they can take whatever you want to throw at them. They 6 speeds come up for sale on here occasionally but i am sure jurgen could get hold of one for you, be prepared to spend about £1500 on one though.

Good luck and welcome to the club