The mkiv Supra Owners Club

HI ALL . NEWBIE HERE 1.5jz

Guest soaring Charlie

Guest soaring Charlie

hi to all :)

just doing a engine build for my soarer and looking into the 1.5 jz

the 1 jz in the car is smoking a bit . think it is the stem seals as it looks like they are common to go

got a spare 1jz with stem seals which have gone

got a spear 2JZ with steam seals gone aswell

is there a link on hear to which way to tackle it

which head gasket will i need as in 2mm or a 2.5 mm

which valves can i run . 2jz intake in the 1jz head

can i use the 1jz intake valves in the exhaust side

are the pistons the same . if bores are same that is

are the cams the some . does the 2jz cams fit in to the 1jz head

where is a good place for the full gasket set

or any info that may help me

thanx mark

Guest soaring Charlie
:hello:

http://www.soarerworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16456

There are a lot of fiddly bits when you fit a 2JZ bottom end to a Soarer. If the 1JZ bottom end is OK, it may not be worth the effort, unless you really, really want a 1.5JZ.

hi well i do really want to try the 1.5 as i have the two engines 1jz/2jz to make up the 1.5 jz .. the two engines both have stem seals problems so which ever way i look at it they need to be spit to sort them out . well are spit the 1jz head is up at a engine shop haveing the 2jz inlet valves put in . thats why i thought about haveing the 1jz inlet valves put it the exhaust side which would make them 1mm over . what are the fiddly bits

I assume you were running a single turbo upgrade on the Soarer (otherwise you might as well have used the 2JZ complete, with a single turbo conversion), so you'll have to make some fiddly changes to the exhaust etc because the Supra block is taller.

Guest soaring Charlie

right . so if i had (which i do not but might be able to get from somewhere ) the inlet manifold and exhaust manifold will the 2jz fit straight in . with no rewiring

Guest soaring Charlie