The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Engine Dress - Advice/Help, please.

NOS

Hi all,

I have a 97 JSpec TT Auto (pictures attached).

I want to chrome up/dress up my engine. I am a beginner at this.

What parts should I start with, and what is an estimate for a total cost of an engine dress?

N.B.-> On the advice of Forum members previously, I contacted a Seller on the Forum who was recommended for Engine Dresses, but they (who shall remain nameless) never got back to me, so please do not think I am thread duplicating.

Thanks guys.[OOPS][/OOPS]

Have a word with Mr Lover. His bay comes with health and safety warnings for when he lifts the bonnet.

Apparently observatories need 24 hours notice prior to exposure too. :D

Cheers Andy :D

Its expensive and labour intensive just remember that, bling is not for everyone, it usually means chroming or polishing or replacing a lot of parts

Very true and keeping it looking good is a task as well :)

i would imagine it be a lot more difficult to make a TT engine bay look as neat as a single turbo,

if you look at the first picture, the majority of the cluttered piping is removed when going single.

easy bits that make a difference is shiny FMIC, remove the viscus, and painting the rocker cover

Depends what your budget is as to where to start.

The free bit, get your old toothbrush out and some degreaser and get that engine bay clean!

You can start small with radiator clamps and battery clamp.

Maybe a few engine bay covers or a hard pipe kit for the smic.

Then move on to the turbo pipework. Intake manifold and cam covers. Chrome plated or just polished will again depend on your budget and who you choose to do the work.

If your budget allows get it all done in one hit as doing little bits hear and there highlights the dirty bits left in place :D

You could choose to go down the route of a bit of powdercoating or painting and a bit of polishing/chroming to highlight a few parts.