The mkiv Supra Owners Club

installing a turbo on a NA supra (non turbo)...

abtin90

hello, im new to this but ive just bought myself a 1995 na supra manual, it already has a wizards of nos kit installed and a veilside bodykit.

I am looking to turbo charging it...can anyone recommend a complete turbo kit?

also does anyone know how much power the internals of a NA supra can hold?

Thanks any help is really appreciated.

Whifbitz have a turbo kit I believe.

According to a discussion this week, the N/A can hold "alot of power"... not mentioning how much.

But I reckon the N/A could probably withold around 400bhp at max before it needs to be swapped for a 2JZ-GTE.

I could be wrong. But it's worth doing an engine swap in my opinion anyway.

thanks, do you know of any good garages near me where i can get a turbo installed? i live in twickenham, middlesex.

Also do you know roughly how much it costs to have a kit installed.

I found a kit on ebay could you take a look and let me know whether its worth it or not? and if you think its anygood? it includes a gt45 turbo

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170403849880&viewitem=&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWAX%3AIT

the n/a engine can take a fair bit more than 400bhp. but yes due to the high compression it can only around 6-7psi which only most turbo kits would give you between 350-400bhp, to raise the boost you'll have to lower compression by using a thicker head gasket, hence more expence. the n/a engine is very strong and can take a beating.

Theres a few guys on this forum you have already completed or in the process of completing this conversion with good results. just make sure you get good quality parts especially the turbo manifold and down pipes etc.

Whifbitz is near you then in Enfield a bit further away AFR and SRD near Crawley.

thats right, Whifbitz are in Enfield, can get you the kit and install it. however it will cost alot more than the ebay kit, but you get what you pay for mate.