The mkiv Supra Owners Club

brakes , good and bad news :D

supra steveo

well ive been playing with my car again

the good news is ive got new pads and discs all round

the bads news is ive done something to my rear hand brake when i was taking the disc off and now one of the clips hits the back of the wheel studs on the hub what the hell have i done ?

before.jpg

after.jpg

spring right.jpg

spring wrong.jpg

Nothing wrong with leathering the living daylights out of an old disc ;)

As for why the clips hitting the stud I can't help you but for taking rear discs off, as far as I can tell, they are a similar design to my Vectra's rear discs in that the handbrake is inside the rear disc? If so, then usually you have to turn a cog or similar through one of the excess holes in the disc which slackens the shoes off inside so they stop gripping the disc (and of course, handbrake needs to be off).

However, as I have never worked on a Supra before, I can't be dead sure but that is the usual way. (Oh, and whacking it one with as heavy a hammer as you can find ;) )

as far as I can tell, they are a similar design to my Vectra's rear discs in that the handbrake is inside the rear disc? If so, then usually you have to turn a cog or similar through one of the excess holes in the disc which slackens the shoes off inside so they stop gripping the disc

doh and yeah it was a canny big hammer :D smashed part of the disc

You have to slacken off the handbrake through the hole in the disc when the hole's at the bottom. Then you need two bolts to put through the other two holes to lever the disc off.

Hopefully the attached pic will help you get the handbrake sorted. Let's hope nothing's broken.

You can see in the third pic you uploaded how the spring/clip/pin should sit.

spring%20wrong.jpg

Whined?

This is an EPC diagram of the handbrake mechanism. http://www.mkivsupra.net/vbb/showpost.php?p=548183&postcount=2