The mkiv Supra Owners Club

How driveable is a high powered Supra?

Samurai 20V

Hi Guys.

I haven't gone for a drive in any Supra as yet, I have a friend with a BPU one, he says the car can get out of shape but is controllable.

Just want some opinions,Is driving a car with say 500 - 600hp a real challenge?

Is the car continuously out of shape on full throttle or does it show some form of composure? I assume tyre choice is very important, a softer compound is the weapon of choice?

Thanks..

Thanks for the quick replies...

Don't want to sound like a total noob but what is geo setup? :help:

When I eventually get my SUpra it will be my first RWD, so I need to get used to it. The one I got my eye on has HKS GT2835 twins, so I assume it will be around the 600hp mark, maybe not the best to learn on such a powerful car...

When I eventually get my SUpra it will be my first RWD, so I need to get used to it. The one I got my eye on has HKS GT2835 twins, so I assume it will be around the 600hp mark, maybe not the best to learn on such a powerful car...

This has FAIL and crash written all over it.

Geometry setup, make sure all the wheels are pointing in the right direction.

HKS GT2835 twins will only be ticking over at 600bhp, with decent supporting mods they will make a 1000bhp, big twins hit in very smoothly, should be very easy to drive.

Full wheel alignment / geometry, these cars anrt toys and need to be set up mechanically to drive fine.

From reading you, your not going to have a good time going straight into a rwd pushing arrpx 600bhp. end of.

If you do go ahead, take it out for a drive but dont go over 20mph and get to know the car...and read how it drives...then take the speed a little futher...abuse the car and it will abuse you!! be safe:)

Just want some opinions,Is driving a car with say 500 - 600hp a real challenge?

It does depend on the characteristics of your turbo choice, and driving style.