The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Changing brake fluid

jackso11

Right, I have never done this job before and there doesn't seem to be a walk through on here. There are plenty of threads talking about it, but not actually step by step.

This is what I am guessing, am I right?

1. disconnect brake hoses from brakes

2. point the hoses into cups or something to catch fluid

3. pump all the fluid through

4. flush the system with some new fluid

5. fill up and bleed all caliper

When I write that out it looks like it wont work due to all the air in the system but I am hoping someone will point me in the right direction of a guide...or write one :)

I want to get all the fluid out of the system as I don't know ifit has 5.1 or 4 in there at the moment and want to put Motul 5.1 in.

found a few answers on this after 20 mins more searching. So its nipple play, not draining.

I will change this to fitting braided hoses.....simply take out old ones, put in new ones and bleed?

Can anyone confirm if these are the stainless type or the galvanised type?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Toyota-Supra-SC300-SC400-Goodridge-Braided-Brake-Lines-/300321709416?cmd=ViewItem&pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item45ec919d68

The model number is on the listing but I don't know what to look for.

Edited by jackso11 (see edit history)

Your first post regarding the way to do it, seem a bit off. You need to only open up for one brake at a time and keep filling in new fluid "on top" of the old one. Start from the wheel furthest from the brake resevoir.

If you search a bit, you should find more info. You can also go YouTube as there are several videos on how to do it.

Chris Wilson has some good braided hoses available. They have just a bit more length than most others, making fitting them easier.

Make sure the get the BEST brake fluid you can get with the highest boiling point. Castrol makes some nice stuff. Sparco as well.

Motul RBF 600 is more than good enough for job.