The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Air Filters again - The Big Question

Vaughany

I have been running a HKS SPF for the past 9 months on my J-Spec TT. Every so often a thread pops up saying how bad these filters are at filtration but the question never really gets answered. ARE THESE FILTERS BAD FOR THE SUPRA and if so why are alot of people running them and various tuners recommending them.

I am trying to get a honest answer so I can decide whether to put back on the standard box with an uprated panel filter, keep the HKS Kit or replace this with a Apexi Kit that tests have shown to have better filtration.

The HKS kit that I have has its filter replaced every 7000 miles and I dont drive it to often looking to cover about 10000 miles per annum. How many people on here are running the HKS SPF, have you experienced any problems due to this kit?

What am I to do, I am hoping the Tuners/Experts will get involved and finally put this GHOST to rest.

Thanks

Hi Mate

Yeh I have read this but maybe I am abit sceptical and it still does'nt answer why some UK Tuners are still recommending them and why alot of the Big Supras/Skylines are running them.

If they are so BAD why have they got them on there cars. The debate goes on!

IMO, most people have aftermarket filters because they look and sound nice. The first thing most kids ask me about my car is if I have a filter on it...

Obviously, high BHP Supras/skylines need the extra air offered by an aftermarket filter, but this added flow comes at a cost - poorer filtration.

As well as sucking in all the crap and dust from the engine bay, an open filter will draw in hot air, as it is not ducted like the stock one.

The stock one is perfectly sufficient for 99% of cars.

A truly powerful drag car will run with no filter at all, at best gauze over the turbo intake - on a car with huge BHP the owners tend to forsake things like fitration as they generally put the engine apart quite often anyway.