The mkiv Supra Owners Club

question on Nic's HID kit/bulb

bodilx6

I've been using the HID kit Nic used to supply for a couple of years now.

One of the bulbs have gone dead and I need it replaced.

I'm guessing I'll need two, to make sure there are no differences between the two, right? (Nic's kit is 6500k, hard to find and I'm guessing the color changes slightly when the bulb has been used for some time now)

I can't get a hold of the Enon brand here, so if I get another brand that most certainly uses other plugs for the bulb, can I just cut the wire and solder it and there by use the ballast from Nic's kit or do ballasts only work with bulbs of their brand?

Can anybody recommend an online shop that has a large selction of HID bulbs here in the EU/UK that ships to mainland Europe

I've been using the HID kit Nic used to supply for a couple of years now.

One of the bulbs have gone dead and I need it replaced.

• I'm guessing I'll need two, to make sure there are no differences between the two, right? (Nic's kit is 6500k, hard to find and I'm guessing the color changes slightly when the bulb has been used for some time now)

• I can't get a hold of the Enon brand here, so if I get another brand that most certainly uses other plugs for the bulb, can I just cut the wire and solder it and there by use the ballast from Nic's kit or do ballasts only work with bulbs of their brand?

• Can anybody recommend an online shop that has a large selction of HID bulbs here in the EU/UK that ships to mainland Europe

To be honest, the cheapest way of doing it is to buy the full kit. You can get a decent new kit for around the £60 mark. Not sure how much postage would be but call it an extra £20 tops. You can then either sell on the ballasts or keep a hold of them as spares.

You are correct about the temperatures changing through use & time though so you would need 2 new bulbs to keep it even.