The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Modification Novice

Guest gtrman

Hello everybody!

Please excuse my username - as well as my MKIV Supra, I also own an R35 GT-R and on the GT-R forum my username is supraman!

I've owned my Supra for 11 years and I've done 170,000 miles in it. However, I'm embarrassed to say that it's still pretty much stock. Now that I've got my GT-R, I'm thinking about modifying the Supra and perhaps tracking it, which I've never done before.

My immediate problem is that the original clutch and exhaust are finally starting to show signs of problems. I plan to search this forum for more information, but I'd be really interested to hear your opinions on what I should replace them with. What factors do I need to consider?

With regards to the exhaust, I'm looking for something that won't disturb the neighbours at low speeds.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

On the track day advice side, I'd perhaps get a low mile stock exhaust and then get Chris Wilson (Shropshire) to do the clutch and put this itro £1200 suspension on (presuming this is also original?).....he'd be the best to advise on the suitability to further performance mods too IMO.

Wow! Thanks for the speedy responses. You lot are a friendly bunch. :thumbs:

Hi and welcome, it would help to give more details on your car starting with whether it's a TT or N/A?

Yes, that would have been sensible. My car is an import, registered in 1997. It only had a few hundred miles on it when I bought it. It is a 6-speed manual twin turbo. It's got the face-lifted interior, but it doesn't have the engine with variable valve timing. At the time I bought it, I was told that it was an RZ-S, but I've never been entirely sure if that was correct.

Im guessing Uk spec TT due to 11yr ownership and the 170k mileage?

Close but no cigar!

could you just confirm that you are saying you have done 170K miles on the original clutch!