The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Confessions of an autogearboxaphobe

The-Plethora

First don't laugh.

I have been driving for the last 14 years or so and have only ever driven a manual. As I am on the lookout for a Supra now it's not the insurance, running costs or finding my way around an engine thats got my concerned its making the transition to an automatic setup.

I am just wondering if someone with a similar experience can give me a heads up on what it is like to move over to an auto having only ever driven manual. I kinda get the 'gear' selection but do you find yourself looking for the phantom pedal, what about clutch control / stalling etc is it likely something that I can pick up very quickly or the sort of thing that needs an ad hoc driving lesson to get used to?

The first time you drive one there is a chance you'll try and throw yourself through the window when you brake with the wrong foot but apart from that there isn't a great deal you can get wrong. Give it about 20 metres and you'll be fine... unless you are severely retarded of course.

Just make sure you try a few different cars with conventional automatic gearboxes and then drive the Supra, it's a nice 'box in comparison to many.

I was driving manual cars for 14 years before stumbling over Supra with autobox. My only comparision was BMW 316i and BMW 735i and Supras autobox is just perfect. Going to redline no problem, reducing gears when you would want her to reduce them, handling both (aggressive and easy) driving without any problem at all.

I did sort out "clutch leg" problem by putting in firmly on the dedicated place next to brake pedal.

I'm pretty sure you will love autobox in no time :)

Konrad

The auto is very easy to get used to. One tip if you have been a manual driver all your life, tuck your left foot up against the seat to keep it out of the way to start with. then you wont go for the clutch and find your foot jammed on the big brake pedal.