The mkiv Supra Owners Club

New DVLA Engine Conversion Rules

RobD

Anyone heard about the engine conversion laws thats out now?

Apparently if you carry out an engine conversion you'll need the following:

Reciept of purchase from a garage,on headed paper confirming the engine number , size(cc) the fuel type for the reconditioned or replacement.

If your existing engine has been converted i.e single turbo,written evidence on headed paper from the garage that carried out the work.

An inspection report from a body such as RAC or AA.

An inspection report provided for insurance purposes.

And a writtn confirmation from the manufacturer containing the engine number and size!

So basically this rules out own diy conversions, and if your not in the motor trade this will turn expensive if your planning on going NA-TT!

What is peoples thoughts on this? As most know i'm planning on going TT in the very near future now but obviously I work in a garage so this wont be a problem for me! But people planning to do it on there drive will be in trouble!

:(

Sorry guys but I've just read this and I don't see the new DVLA requirements as being an issue for people wanting to modify their Supras.

As long as you have a receipt for the engine then you will be OK, while the fuel system only needs to be declared for cars registered after the 1st Mar 2001 - that kind of discounts 95% of Supes.

I also can't see a problem with the adding of single turbos as the engine is not being replaced so there is no need for any official declaration of engine change.

Edited by SupraAyf
A few word changes (see edit history)

Its a bit long winded in my opinion, if they're wanting a garage to give a headed letter I know my place wouldn't be willing to unless they've carried out the work, I know something like that would cost quite a bit on labour, thats if they even contemplated doing this!