The mkiv Supra Owners Club

J spec an SZ

SUPRACHRIS

I'm no expert but:

N/A = naturally aspirated (no turbos) and is just a technical term. The SZ part comes from toyota to differenciate from the RZ and GZ models which both have turbos. I think some SZ's are not described as such when they are registered in the UK. they are simply registered as 3.0l supras.

Hope this helps.

There was an instance with Elephant recently where they don't quote on SZ's but someone had got an SZ insured because they described it as a Supra 3.0ltr

If it didn't say SZ on my policy I'd get very twitchy indeed. You know how insurance companies can get.:(

Originally posted by SUPRACHRIS

Look on your log book if it says the model on it, if not :) , on my insurance it just says 1994 supra 3ltr, which is really what it is (no turbos etc) so it is right in a way, must admit i am paying less now than what i was for my FTO GR :cool:

Me reckons you've just insured a UK spec. My log book says it was imported, I'm not taking any chances.

All this talk of models and insurance is starting to make me twitchy about mine now. When I renew I am going to have to have a strong word with the insurers to ensure they are covering the wrong model. I may even go down the assured valuation route that way they have a picture of the car and can't quibble if I claim.

Na the UK is a dedicated model ie TT, where as the imports are different as you have three models plus manual TT aero etc, im sure its right, they told me what car it was when i did a quote online (tesco) but with this i dont even need a tracker where the SZ i did :blink:

Na the UK is a dedicated model ie TT, where as the imports are different as you have three models plus manual TT aero etc, im sure its right, they told me what car it was when i did a quote online (tesco) but with this i dont even need a tracker where the SZ i did :blink:

I'm with Tesco as an SZ, no tracker needed - its a farce!:blink: