The mkiv Supra Owners Club

TT or NA Aerotop?

Elliot

Hi all. I'm in a bit of a dilemma - I've got the need, the need for speed!

I have a very nice 95 NA aerotop I bought at the end of last summer, but I haven't really had the roof off much because of the lame weather.

It's black, lowered, 18" blitz alloys, full blitz bodykit, with standard spoiler, full cream leather interior, nice stereo system, clifford 600 & basicly in excellent condition.

Now - do I start to think about selling it as the nice weather kicks in & buy a TT? or do I keep it? It's a lush car & I'm worried I'll buy a 'dog' TT with the turbos etc all blown / wrecked!

I've got my bike test in a month, so was thinking I wont need a TT as the bike will do fine for speed, and the NA for posing!

Then again I'm a student, but always manage to do well with money (all legal!) & have one more year at uni. Then again, I'm about to start a 5 month summer holiday, so cash shouldn't be too much of a problem.

Decisions, decisions! - I think we should have a Supra helpline / agony aunt / counsellor.

Any advice anyone? Should I be 'scared' to check out these disgustingly cheap TTs on the autotrader etc?!

I sometimes think should I sell my NA and get a TT? But its pros and cons really. If you have a nice NA that you know is reliable then its harder still, especially if its an Aerotop.

The performance might not be as good on a NA but the number of blown turbos and turbos problems does help put me off a bit. Saying that I've never been in a TT so don't know how much faster it really is.:D

Plus trying to explain to the girlfriend I've spent a couple of thousand extra for the same car that goes a bit faster might not make me very popular :rolleyes:

Without doubt the TT is a fair bit faster, but having the opportunity to use that speed and the fact I'd lose so much money on the sale of my car means that the TT isn't an option.

The NA fits my requirements nicely, remember its not exactly a slow car.