The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Detailing help needed

EdMorris

Following on from my recent mistake of leaving my car at Enigmatec, it turns out they have f@@ked up my new repsray by parking it outside uncovered (although I gave them a proper cover to use). There is a bodyshop opposite and God only knows what kind of crap is now adoring my previously lovely paint (they also buggered my drivers door mirror which is in retract position although this has been forced as they're electric). Suffice to say, don't use these guys.

Anyway, I need some advice on cleaning/restoring the colour and in particular any products you guys recommend. I have washed it twice with meguires gold class shampoo, but I'm still left with a white mottled haze thats rough to the touch (see pics). I'm assuming some kind of paint cleaner is needed, but I'm new to this so any help is appreciated. I like Meguires stuff and use their gold class polish too, but I'm happy to try any product that will do the job.

Thanks guys.

DSC_0019.jpg

DSC_0021.jpg

Edited by EdMorris
Forgot the pics (see edit history)

Yeah I'd be threatening the company who did that with legal action if they don't sort it out. They're obliged to give your car back to you in as good condition (or better) as when you dropped it off.

When a company I once used damaged my front bumper on their drive and dropped the petrol filling handle on my bodywork, I didn't even have to ask. They right away told me they're repair it for me free of charge.

Have u tried claying the car or used tar remover to see if it comes off?

If not u will need a mild cutting compound and preferbaly a good machine (rotary or DA) to polish and get the cut required to remove that cr4p.

Obviously u dont want a deep cut and remove excessive paint so would use something with a light to intermiadiate cut.

I would personally be sending someone round to their cars and getting them looking worse than they left mine!