The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Internal build on singles?

jazz1

Ok i know LeeP has done alot of internal build as in pistons etc, what about the rest of the single guys do you just bolt on the kit and thats it? whats the difference? is it much better to upgrade all internal parts etc?

Ok i know LeeP has done alot of internal build as in pistons etc, what about the rest of the single guys do you just bolt on the kit and thats it? whats the difference? is it much better to upgrade all internal parts etc?

If you go for the bolt on option you are going to have to budget for around £10k ish

Turbo Kit (Turbo, DP, Manifold, Lines etc)

Fuel Kit (Fuel rail, Pumps, Injectors, FPR, Lines etc)

Supportive Mods (Bigger brakes, BC, AFR gauge, Cooling etc)

Mapping (ECU, Mapping, Dyno)

Labour for all the above.

I have no experience of single turbos but i have read lots of threads of personal experiences of single owners with stock internals (Robbie, Jamie P Ian C) and i would say go with the "if it ain't broke don't fix it" approach.

Jamie P's latest single was a low mileage stock car and still on the unopened block. A rebuild is heavily reliant on a quality builder and you'd probably be better off killing a high mile stock engine and then (if you can find one) fitting a known low mile replacement.

id probably go with internals aswell just for the peace and mind

I feel the complete opposite should I ever do it again, a well looked after stock unopened engine will be fine for insane road power, and a lot cheaper that a WELL BUILT engine

Only addition would be Cams for me

Edited by tooquicktostop (see edit history)

Jazz do I remember you engine has an issue with compression though?? I would not add a single to a poor compression engine without sorting the problem first