The mkiv Supra Owners Club

What to do?

Vaughany

Sorry for the long post but I need to set the scene. I have been building my Supra for the last three years, here is a link to my garage for photos and current spec.

http://www.mkivsupra.net/vbb/vbpicgallery.php?do=view&g=1991

The car made 591bhp at the fly at 1.75bar which was ok but I decided to get the head ported and polished to see what improvements this made. After this was completed the car was took to Mark Shead for mapping.

Unfortunately on the road run at 1.6 bar a water hose popped off and we feared the worse as the temp gauge maxed out. The car was stopped immediately to minimise any damage. After letting the car cool down, refilled the radiator the car was taken out and driven steadily to see how it drove. All indications were good, temps were back to normal at normal driving and there was no obvious signs from driving to make us think there was a problem.

After road mapping I continued to get a single power run on a Dyno Dynamics dyno. The car made 516bhp at the fly which was obviously 75bhp down on the last power run prior to porting and polishing of the head. I was obviously upset and seeked answers to why the power had dropped. It seems the brief overheating has caused some damage. A compression test confirmed this with the following readings

piston 1 150

piston 2 150

piston 3 150

piston 4 140

piston 5 131

piston 6 130

Actual diagnosis for the exact problem still needs to be confirmed but indications are that at best I need new piston rings, at worse, new pistons and rings. So is suppose anywhere between £2000 - £4000 to repair.

I have had enough of the car now and have decided to sell, my questions are the following

1. Should I repair the car in full,mapping and power run and then sell?
  2. Should I sell the car as it is with a obvious price reduction?
  3. What would the car be worth in a fixed state?
  4. What would it be worth as it stands?