The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Hey Guys, Total Newbie Here

Richie1985

Hey everyone,

I'm Richie and from Darlington, I drive a Citroen Xsara VTS at the moment (I know it sound poo but it is really a good car and 180bhp surprises a lot of people :p )

I don't currently own a supra but am looking into buying one (now that the insurance isn't stupid :) ) I really don't know too much about the car (yet) and decided this would be the best place to find out.

I will probably be looking at getting a NA at the moment as a TT is a little out of my budget and this will be my first RWD car.

I've noticed from reading a few threads that a Supra isn't as simple as NA or TT, what are the differences between the models/specs and also, what are the differences between the UK and Imports?

Obviously I want to find out as much as possible before buying and the autotrader adds are very vague :( so any info will be great ;)

Hi Richie, welcome to the forum :)

Check this thread here for a guide as to the differences within the different models of Supra. :)

Essentially, you get Japanese Domestic Market models and UK spec models.

The UK specs are all Twin Turbo, offered as automatics and also manuals.

There are variants to the J-Specs...SZ, SZ-R, RZ, RZ-S, GZ :) The SZ and SZ-R are the non turbo (NA). Again, auto or manual available. The rest are the TT models which have different available features.

There are also facelift versions (J-Spec only for facelift, all UKs are non-facelift). The facelift NA model SZ-R offers a 6 speed gearbox on the manual model compared to the SZ's 5 speed. The facelift SZ AND SZ-R are both 5 speed.

Rather than basically re-writing the guides for you, best to have a read through to gather the info for yourself. :D

Enjoy!

Hi Richie :welcome:

One thing to keep in mind is that UK spec Supras are quite a bit less to insure than imports.

However, there wasn't a UK NA...... But you may find that a UK TT is less to insure than a import NA anyway :shock: