The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Coolant Problem

Fitz

Right, I have a slight problem. I'm not too technically minded so bare with me.

I was driving the supra last week Wednesday (25th) [its my day to day car] and I looked down and saw that the temperature gauge was creeping up unusually high (as it normally stays at 50%) so I pulled into halfords which was conveniently local and checked the coolant level...

It was empty for some reason which made me think *that's strange* so anyway I bought some coolant from Halfords and topped it up to "Full". Left it running for about 15-20 mins to allow it to run through the system and hooray 50% again.

So Problem solved... oh no. Today, same situtation driving along and the temperauture gauge is creeping to the red. So, I pulled over, turned the engine off and checked under the bonnet. The coolant is empty..AGAIN from this morning???

Another walk to Halfords as I didn't fancy taking the car in it's condition, bought another litre of coolant (same brand) and topped it up. Left it ideling for about 15-20mins. Great solved again...no. I've just got home to see how much coolant is remaining....and guess what It's empty again...

I can't see any signs of the pipes leaking or any damage to the radiator.

What should I be doing/checking? Do I need to do something with the radiator?

Also, there appears to be some kind of a 'stain' which I'm sure wasnt there before. It looks as if though something has splattered and dried (see attached photos) any ideas what this could be? Oh, just so people know it's a '94 jspec n/a auto.

30032009323.jpg

30032009324.jpg

Any help would be grately appreciated.

Thanks,

Cliff.

Well, one time after i noticed it was creeping up as I pulled off into Halfords, the temp. dropped back down again.

Furthermore, it made a sort of "emptying bottle" noise like a dispenser sound (i.e water vendor when you pull the leaver down to release water).