The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Importing/exporting a Supra to France, dream and reality

Kaamos

Alright folks, first off I'm not a professional, just a french enthusiast trying to import a supra down here in France.

Along my readings here I've came across some weirds beliefs, and I felt the need of making a point, but again, I'm not a professional import-dealer or whatever... I'm only speeking through my own experience.

I'll try to make it short, I swear, but you have to know that france is a weird country and law is sometimes more or less applied, I mean, I'll depict the fully legal thing but sometimes a dealer would "tolerate" some exceptions you know....

What happens once a french guy has bought an english supra (uk or j spec doesn't matter so far) ?

He needs to get a "carte grise", which is the french version of your V5 if I got it right, and you are charged about 400€ for a TT car.

But, prior to this "carte grise" and in order to get it, you'll need :

1 a clean french MOT

2 a paper that says that yes, the car is road-legal in France, and here is where it can get Messy.

In the perfect case, this paper is delivered by Toyota France and for that you pay 125€ and wait about 4 weeks.

BUT this paper (named "certificat de conformité") comes in two versions :

-conformité totale -> means the car IS road legal, french-wise (UK spec)

-conformité partielle -> means the car MAY be road legal but more tets have to be done (J-spec)

**********fonformité totale**********

So let's have a look first at the best and most easy case.

You get your UK-spec car (not J-spec) to a local toyota dealer, along with the paper you've been given by toyota France.

Here you have your car checked and for all the ux-spec sellers out there, here's the points that are checked and that MUST be in stock state in order to get a quick (1 month and a half or so) and easy french homologation through the "conformité totale" paper.