The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Handling - Newbie to Suspension & Geometry etc

meph137

Hi all, I'm very new to suspension and geometry and I'm wondering if there was much I could do to improve handling on the supra on normal road conditions. The car doesn't lose grip or anything like that, and seems to get more responsive the more you push it, which seems kindof to me!

Anyhow, I sometimes feel as though the handling is a bit sloppy, it would be nice to get a bit more feedback on corners. Also I reckon the roll could be reduced a bit. All I can describe it as, is the handling feels slightly...err....muted? Not as sharp as I reckon it could.

My only comparison is newer cars to be honest, the handling just feels much sharper even though weight is similar.

From what I read, checking geometry should be one of the things I should look into. Also it seems as though just changing the shocks is a good plan, anyone got any pointers?

Thanks very much

I'd be interested to hear your extended comments on how you find the steering.

Kinda hard to describe, the actual steering seems relatively good, though possibly could be a bit more responsive. I suppose I imagine it similar to comparing it to a newer cars brakes, for some reason new cars seem incredibly sharp on the brakes - going from an older car to a newer one you almost go through the windscreen! Its worth noting the Supra is my first car of its type, I did previously have a celica which I think felt a bit more responsive, that could be due to weight?

When I think about it, I think the main part is that the I feel the car could feel better during the corner. It almost feels like it shouldnt be pushed as it might not handle very well, thats probably due to roll, but I'm a layman when it comes to these things so I might be misreading the signs. Just feels a bit sluggish...

Well, hopefully that makes some form of sense? Cheers for the reply